scott macaulay - EXECUTIVE PRODUCER

Scott Macaulay is a film producer and co-president of the production company Forensic Films. With his partner Robin O’Hara, he has produced or executive produced many award-winning features, including: Peter Sollett’s Raising Victor Vargas; Harmony Korine’s Gummo (as co-producer) and julien donkey-boy; Alice Wu’s Saving Face; Tom Noonan’s Sundance Grand Jury Prize-winning What Happened Was and his follow-up feature, The Wife; Jesse Peretz’s The Chateau; Bryan Barber’s Idlewild; John Leguizamo’s Undefeated; James Ponsoldt’s Off the Black; and Mark Jackson’s War Story. As a company, Forensic Films has been involved as a co-producer in many European productions, including Olivier Assayas’s Demonlover and Clean. Most recently, Macaulay developed, with director Alix Lambert, and Mark Harris and Mike Knowlton of the digital studio Murmur, Hello Fat Larry, a “fast storytelling” mobile app that won the 2015 POV Hackathon. Currently, Macaulay is producing the debut feature of experimental filmmaker Elisabeth Subrin, A Woman, A Part (in post-production), and is in production on Alix Lambert’s Goodbye, Fat Larry.

Macaulay is also the Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of Filmmaker Magazine, a quarterly print publication and website devoted to independent film. For Filmmaker’s publisher, IFP (Independent Filmmaker project), Macaulay created and continues to teach the IFP Narrative Labs, still the only filmmaker mentorship program specifically focused on post-production, festival strategy and distribution. He has lectured on independent film and taught seminars for filmmakers at CPH:DOX Lab in Copenhagen, the Dubai International Film Festival and the Venice Biennale College Cinema. Previous to his work in film, Macaulay was the Programming Director of the video and performance center The Kitchen in New York. He still occasionally works in performance and was a producer of Candice Breitz’s New York, New York for Performa in 2010. Macaulay and O’Hara are also recipients of an Independent Spirit Award for their work producing independent film.